Recent Posts



No tags yet.

KILLCODE - The Answer - Album Available February 20th, 2018

In 2008, frontman/vocalist, Tom Morrissey and guitarist, Chas, decided to embark on their musical journey as they began the creation of KILLCODE. They soon added Eric Bonesmith on bass, and Rob Noxious on drums. Their fan based continued to grow but obviously there was a feeling that they r needed something or someone else to complete their intended sound. They added guitarist number two, D.C. Gonzalez. This solidified KILLCODE and they've been killing it ever since. There is a distinct sound when each guitarist plays and the blend of the two is very unique and intense. The Answer, which is set to be released February 20, 2018, brings us yet another fusion of high energy guitar riffs and robust vocals, as well as contrasting tracks that lean more on the solemn side of musicality. The album was produced by Joey Zampella, best known as guitarist for Life of Agony, Carnoivore and Stereomud. What came from that trip to the studio is an amazing 10-track demonstration of the talent this band holds.

The entire album, gives me flashbacks to a more 80's sound while continuing to be relevant in todays' rock industry. The opening track and album title track, "The Answer" thrusts us quickly into their harder, more brusque side and it continues in the next few tracks as Eric delivers bass chords that depict a dark and heavy mood, alongside the stellar dueling guitar riffs. "Bleed" gives Chas and D.C. their time to freaking shine. The riffs are extreme.

Halfway through the album, track 5, "Own it Now", leads in anthemicly but remains calm and composed. This is quite common for KILLCODE as they've proven in the past that generally they like to mix up the tempo and pace throughout. It keeps the album from being motionless. It kicks back into high gear with "Kickin' and Screamin". Rob shows off his skills on "Pick Your Side" and "Slave" as the drums play a major role instrumentally. "Put it Off" is a little different since it offers a look at the country/western ability that Killcode obviously has tucked away. It was not what was expected as a final track. This is not a negative thing. The song is actually brilliantly sung and played. It also incorporates other facets with a short, lyrical, hip-hop glimpse, as well as the harmonica which is significantly utilized and is a key partner to the acoustic delivery and message of this song. It tapered the album off, in my opinion, triumphantly.

Track List:

  • The Answer

  • Show Me

  • Shot

  • Bleed

  • Own It Now

  • Kickin' and Screamin'

  • Pick Your Side

  • The Haunting

  • Slave

  • Put It Off

KILLCODE are also giving away a free download of their track "Own It Now" off the upcoming album The Answer. The song also features Chris Wyse (Ace Frehley band, OWL, The Cult) on upright electric bass. Click here the FREE download.